gridprims

as of Oct 27, 2026

Electric utility · EIA utility id 6717

Franklin Electric Coop - (AL)

Ownership, as EIA reports it
Cooperative
States served
AL
Customers in 2025
8,025
Sales in 2025
325,162 MWh
Revenue in 2025
$35,640,000

U.S. Energy Information Administration · Annual Electric Power Industry Report (Form EIA-861) · data for 2025 · as of Oct 7, 2026 · retrieved Oct 31, 2026 · CC-BY-4.0

If Franklin Electric Coop - (AL) sends your bill

What it sells and charges

Full service (energy and delivery)

Full service (energy and delivery)
SectorCustomersSales (MWh)RevenueAverage price (cents per kWh)
Residential5,99781,073$11,848,00014.61
Commercial2,025202,150$20,317,00010.05
Industrial341,939$3,475,0008.29

Its average price is 9% below the state average for residential customers (16.09 cents per kWh in AL).

How we got this

$11,848,000 residential revenue ÷ 81,073,000 kWh residential sales = 14.61 cents per kWh

Average price is revenue divided by sales, for full-service customers only. It averages every rate and every month, so one household's price can differ. State averages count revenue from every kind of service and sales only once, as EIA does.

Trends, 2021 to 2025

0510 20212022202320242025 ¢/kWh Residential average price (cents per kWh)
From 2021 to 2025, the residential figure went from 12.63 to 14.61 cents per kWh.
02,0004,0006,0008,000 20212022202320242025 Customers Customers
From 2021 to 2025, customers went from 7,854 to 8,025.
Trend table
Trend table
YearResidential average price (cents per kWh)Customers
202112.637,854
202213.827,860
202313.807,933
202414.037,994
202514.618,025

U.S. Energy Information Administration · Annual Electric Power Industry Report (Form EIA-861), 2021 to 2025 · data for 2021-2025 · as of Oct 7, 2026 · retrieved Oct 31, 2026 · CC-BY-4.0

Annual peak demand

Not reported to FERC. Only utilities that plan or balance their own system file Form 714.

Its balancing authority, Tennessee Valley Authority, peaked at 35,430 MW in 2025. That is the balancing authority's peak, not this utility's.

Catalyst Cooperative (PUDL), from FERC Form 714 · Annual peak demand by planning area (FERC Form 714, through PUDL) · data for 2006-2025 · as of Oct 14, 2026 · retrieved Oct 31, 2026 · CC-BY-4.0

Reliability

Not reported to EIA for 2025. Small utilities are often exempt from reporting reliability.

SAIDI is the average minutes without power per customer in the year; SAIFI is how many outages the average customer had. Major event days are storms and similar rare days, counted with and without.

Generation it operates

It operates no power plants listed in EIA-860, so it buys all of its power.

Published rates

9 rates in the OpenEI database, newest updated Mar 26, 2015.

OpenEI (National Laboratory of the Rockies), with rates entered by contributors · U.S. Utility Rate Database (OpenEI) · data for 2026-10 · as of Oct 30, 2026 · retrieved Oct 31, 2026 · CC-BY-4.0

Customer-owned generation (net metering)

Franklin Electric Coop - (AL) reported no net-metered capacity to EIA for 2025.

Net metering in AL

We do not restate net metering rules, which change. The rules are with Alabama Public Service Commission · the DSIRE policy database (NC Clean Energy Technology Center)

U.S. Energy Information Administration · Net metering and other distributed generation (Form EIA-861), 2021 to 2025 · data for 2025 · as of Oct 7, 2026 · retrieved Nov 1, 2026 · CC-BY-4.0

Report a problem

Tell us what looks wrong. The report holds only what you see in the preview below. Nothing is sent until you press Send.

Exactly what will be sent