gridprims

as of Oct 27, 2026

Electric utility · EIA utility id 7979

Hamilton County Elec Coop Assn

Ownership, as EIA reports it
Cooperative
States served
TX
Customers in 2025
20,658
Sales in 2025
272,247 MWh
Revenue in 2025
$34,147,000

U.S. Energy Information Administration · Annual Electric Power Industry Report (Form EIA-861) · data for 2025 · as of Oct 7, 2026 · retrieved Oct 31, 2026 · CC-BY-4.0

If Hamilton County Elec Coop Assn sends your bill

What it charges

Full service (energy and delivery)

Full service (energy and delivery)
SectorCustomersSales (MWh)RevenueAverage price (cents per kWh)
Residential19,876240,311$30,375,90012.64
Commercial78231,936$3,771,10011.81

Its average price is 18% below the state average for residential customers (15.40 cents per kWh in TX).

How we got this

$30,375,900 residential revenue ÷ 240,311,000 kWh residential sales = 12.64 cents per kWh

Average price is revenue divided by sales, for full-service customers only. It averages every rate and every month, so one household's price can differ. State averages count revenue from every kind of service and sales only once, as EIA does.

Trends, 2021 to 2025

0510 20212022202320242025 ¢/kWh Residential average price (cents per kWh)
From 2021 to 2025, the residential figure went from 11.99 to 12.64 cents per kWh.
05,00010,00015,00020,000 20212022202320242025 Customers Customers
From 2021 to 2025, customers went from 19,179 to 20,658.
Trend table
Trend table
YearResidential average price (cents per kWh)Customers
202111.9919,179
202214.5819,696
202314.5420,126
202413.6920,392
202512.6420,658

U.S. Energy Information Administration · Annual Electric Power Industry Report (Form EIA-861), 2021 to 2025 · data for 2021-2025 · as of Oct 7, 2026 · retrieved Oct 31, 2026 · CC-BY-4.0

Annual peak demand

Not reported to FERC. Only utilities that plan or balance their own system file Form 714.

Its balancing authority, ERCOT, peaked at 83,679 MW in 2025. That is the balancing authority's peak, not this utility's.

Catalyst Cooperative (PUDL), from FERC Form 714 · Annual peak demand by planning area (FERC Form 714, through PUDL) · data for 2006-2025 · as of Oct 14, 2026 · retrieved Oct 31, 2026 · CC-BY-4.0

Outages

Not reported to EIA for 2025. Small utilities are often exempt from reporting reliability.

SAIDI is the average minutes a customer went without power over the year. SAIFI is how many separate outages the average customer had. Major event days are storms and other rare days, counted both ways.

Power plants it runs

It operates no power plants listed in EIA-860, so it buys all of its power.

Published rates

8 rates in the OpenEI database, newest updated Aug 14, 2023.

OpenEI (National Laboratory of the Rockies), with rates entered by contributors · U.S. Utility Rate Database (OpenEI) · data for 2026-10 · as of Oct 30, 2026 · retrieved Oct 31, 2026 · CC-BY-4.0

Customer-owned generation (net metering)

Net-metered capacity in Hamilton County Elec Coop Assn by technology, MW, with installations and energy sold back to the grid
YearPhotovoltaic (MW)Battery or storage (MW)Wind (MW)Other (MW)All technologies (MW)InstallationsEnergy sold back (MWh)
20212.40.12.4241
20223.90.14.0370
20235.20.05.2457
20245.60.05.6492
20255.90.05.9520
Net metering by sector, 2025
SectorAll technologies (MW)InstallationsEnergy sold back (MWh)
Residential5.5515
Commercial0.55

Net metering in TX

We do not restate net metering rules, which change. The rules are with Public Utility Commission of Texas · the DSIRE policy database (NC Clean Energy Technology Center)

U.S. Energy Information Administration · Net metering and other distributed generation (Form EIA-861), 2021 to 2025 · data for 2025 · as of Oct 7, 2026 · retrieved Nov 1, 2026 · CC-BY-4.0

Report a problem

Tell us what looks wrong. Only what you see in the preview below is sent, and only when you press Send.

Exactly what will be sent